PK's Field Trainer Chatter - Web App In Progress

The Philotic Knight

Greetings,

As pursuant to the results of the poll shown here, I will begin work on my own version of a web-based "build planner". I will be using this thread to keep everyone abreast of the updates and changes to this planner. At this point, it's only an idea, and we'll have to see how it goes. Below are some of my intentions.

There will be two versions, both released at the same time and kept up together with the same update schedule:

An online web-based planner, and an offline PC application. I will not be making any mobile-specific versions, as I feel that:

1. That's a recipe for disaster, as mobile OSes are constantly updating and changing, and
  2. I have ZERO experience in mobile development, so it'd require me to learn an entirely new set of technologies, which would drastically slow the process down.

I will attempt to create the web version in a way that is mobile-friendly. I'll work actively with users after the release of each version to tighten up that operability.

Why make an offline PC version at all, especially when Mids already exists? Well,

1. I'm more familiar with desktop program application design, so it will be easier for me to make the desktop version first (which will be pretty easy for me) and then port the logic to the web version (I'm thinking a type of MVC format where I can keep the model and controller the same and the format will just change in the view), and
  2. A web-based planner (as has been seen with Sucker Punch's planner) can be "here today, gone tomorrow", so I want a version out there that will outlast my server.