New to Defenders -- Debuffing beast suggestions?

BurningDezire

6 minutes ago, BurningDezire said:

Hello all,

As the title states, I'm new to Defenders and I'm looking for an effective end game debuffing beast build. I want to completely undress the baddies' def and resists. Want to contribute to melting AVs and GMs. Fire away! Influence is no object. 

I think Cold/Sonic defender can do the job.

PPM Information Guide               Survivability Tool                  Interface DoT Procs Guide

Time Manipulation Guide             Bopper Builds                      +HP/+Regen Proc Cheat Sheet

Super Pack Drop Percentages       Recharge Guide                   Base Empowerment: Temp Powers

Bopper's Tools & Formulas                         Mids' Reborn                       

I would go with Cold/Beam Rifle, though to be honest Cold takes a lot of IO work to make good, and (IMO) any time you stray outside the sets with a self heal it requires justification. Radiation/Beam might be easier despite not matching Cold in top performance -Resist stripping.

Thermal/Beam can be a surprisingly good single target debuffer as well, although it is primarily a team buffing set.

• Like 1

Sonic is let down by its limited proc opportunities, so your single-target damage might feel a bit flat solo. However, you end up doing a substantial amount of -res in your normal attack chain, which will passively increase your teammates' DPS, which generally more than makes up for the extra damage.

Edited by Gulbasaur
Doctor Fortune  Soulwright Mother Blight Brightwarden Storm Lantern Shadow Self Corona Borealis
Blood Fortunado Dark/Dark Corruptor Rad/Rad Brute Gravity/Time Controller Storm/Water Defender Warshade Dark/Dark Tanker
The Good Missions Guide: A Heroic Levelling Journey through Story Arcs Blueside Guide Easy IO Cheat Sheet 
The Mean Missions Guide: A Villainous Levelling Journey through Story Arcs Redside Guide Fortunatas are the Bestunatas