Illusion/Dark or Fire/Dark?

Xandyr

Greetings all and thanks for taking time to read this (and hopefully provide some feedback).

I'm thinking about rolling a new controller,  and have it narrowed down between Illusion/Dark or Fire/Dark. I have plenty of experience with Fire, so i know how it performs. 

I have limited experience with Illusion. The concept i have either would "fit". My main objective is to contribute as much as possible on a team. However, I would like to go big game hunting (solo AVs/GMs) also.

I'm kinda leaning towards Illusion for:

1) haven't played much with Illusion before

2) it "looks" like it should do more damage with Phantom Army and Phantasm duplicating itself

3) Group Invis,in theory, shoukd stack well with the -to hit debuffs in Dark (plus easy LotG mule)

4) Deceive seems like it might be a fun power

5) PA might help keep aggro off of myself

So, experts,  which do you think would perform better at bringing down AVs/GMs and being a great addition to teams?

Thanks in advance!

Either should be pretty good when combined with dark.  But I'd have to definitely give the edge to illusion for AV/GM fighting.  They resist a lot of those debuffs so having invincible pets that taunt (as PA does) makes things a lot easier.  You don't have to worry about your pets and a lot of your damage going squish.   I'd say illusion does more single target damage, fire probably has the edge in AoE.   You do need a ton of recharge to make illusion really shine though. 

PA is also really great at taking alpha on a team.  Personally I like not having to depend on a tank/brute or others to necessarily start things off.  If they are shy I just cast PA into the crowd.  Follow that up with a spectral terror and you are in good shape at defanging a mob, not even counting what /dark can do for you.