DeTexturizer

The Philotic Knight

After I got done with primary work on my CoH Modder, and finished up my Rosetta Stone to help give people information to assist them in creating audio mods, I'm now starting to turn my attention towards visual mods. In this area, I will be substantially more limited, as I am NOT a graphic artist by ANY means.

However, in starting research on this area of CoH modding, I discovered .texture files, and became frustrated with trying to do anything with them. I spent the better part of three days seeking out help from OuroDev's website and the Discord, without much success. There's a perl script out there that I wasn't able to get to work, as well as some sort of application called GetTex that I couldn't even manage to compile!

There HAD to be a better way to at LEAST get a .texture file into a format that I can open up in GIMP, even if I have no hopes of being able to make any good images. I can at least make something that can get the files into and out of the .texture format. So, I cracked open a Hex Editor, and started looking at a few .texture files byte-by-byte.

The result of this work is what I'm calling the "DeTexturizer". ALL that this program does is to turn .texture files (hopefully!) back into their source image files and then back into the .texture files again. It does this by scraping the .texture files for the ByteArray that contains the actual image file, and then writing that ByteArray back to the original filename. It also generates an XML file that allows the program to then "Texturize" the image file back INTO a .texture file.

You can find the application at the top of my "PK's Tools" pages here:

http://www.cityofplayers.com/pks-tools/

Here's a screenshot of the program:

image.png.63f5a74e6b08c3bd803dd330ef24f629.png