What would be the best powerset for a first timer tank

misat

I've played around with tanks on live stone/stone but never got out of the teens with it, was to much drama in groups lol

I just want something simple and fun, I don't care about end game and good chance it would be a solo thing and only group on the fly leveling up. Just want to see everyone thoughts on it. I read WP/SS is easy to get going but not much on others

Well I am a newbie tanker myself but I just recently got my first to 50 and it is a Rad/Staff.   Rad Armor is pretty easy and comes with great endurance recovery for no blue bar worries.  Staff has three great AoEs expanded by the Tanker AoE buffs.   Guarded Spin is a 9ft, 135 degree cone available at level 4.  Eye of the Storm is a 15ft PBAoE you get at level 16.  Innocuous Strikes, which you may find redundant, is another 9ft, 135degree cone available at 35.  But in any case, loads of AoE for x8 teams.  And it's dead easy to punch voke entire spawns, even if a bit spread out, from level 16 onward just with EotS.

No Build Up, but the stances come with various bonuses.  Form of Body has a whopping 13.3% +res(All) bonus when Sky Splitter is used with 3 stacks of Body.  I put the Might of the Tanker ATO +res proc in Guarded Spin and it procs easily as well, bringing any res I don't have capped already to the cap.

It definitely wants Focused Accuracy to help with toHit debuffs or certain enemies will turn you into an auto-taunt aura and little else.  The lack of Build Up is occasionally annoying for that same reason but it's made up for with many other benefits.  

Anyway, I played this with PuG leveling all the way and it was easy and fun.  I'm looking at something good for a defense-based tanker next to see how the other half lives.

• Like 1

2 hours ago, ZemX said: