Inquiring about slash commands - How to change the MoTD for a channel, as an operator?

EnjoyTheJourney

As per the subject line, I'm trying to change the MoTD for a public channel. So far it's not happened. The command used was "/chanmotd", which is listed in the homecoming wiki slash commands section as the way to change MoTD for all those entering a channel. 

Can somebody provide a sample public channel MoTD change? 

Thank you in advance for any help provided. 

Thank you for your response!

I tried the following, but with no luck ...

/chan_motd “Master ITF” This Sunday at 10pm EST an all ranged relentless Aeon SF run will take place. All types of ranged characters are welcome. More than one run may take place, depending on interest.

Is there something wrong with what's above?

PS: Master ITF is a channel and I'm an operator / admin for that channel. 

Edited by EnjoyTheJourney

Okay. So here are some things to consider.

Are you on the character that created the channel?

Does that character that you are currently logged into have operator privileges for that channel? (I'm not sure if operator status is assigned at global or character level - it appears to be at the global level, but I would try sending the command by the character that created the channel.)

Are you currently in that channel in the chat entry window when you try to use the command?

I understand that it should work from any character with operator status, but sometimes the game response weird.

I think that you have to be an operator for the channel and enter the command in the chat window that currently set to the channel that  you are trying to send the comand to.

I think the command would read::

/chan_motd "This Sunday at 10pm EST an all ranged relentless Aeon SF run will take place. All types of ranged characters are welcome. More than one run may take place, depending on interest."

Edited by UltraAlt
  • Thanks 1