Forget Defense! Let's proc out Plant and live by the skin of our seeds.

Onlyasandwich

Here for your review is my build of the week! I seem to be making a lot of controllers lately. 😄

This is my first time with both Plant and /Thermal, so I'd appreciate the insight of those who may have used these sets extensively before.

The idea behind this build is to squeeze in as much damage as possible into this little package without sacrificing too much in the way of recharge and basic survivability.

Since Plant/ has such a powerful opener available every spawn in Seeds, I figured it is a prime opportunity to knock down the doors of defense and abandon all hope of softcap. In doing so, I've even left some very juicy ranged defense bonuses one slot away, favoring extra damage instead. I've supported this with a solid layer of resists (sans fighting!), as well as Rune to mitigate any volleys that make their way back before I have lockdown. Playing without softcap is also just a lot more fun tactically if you have the tools to tackle it.

I'd love your opinions on how much of this is great, and how much is just silly.

Some more specific questions:

• Carrion Creepers is apparently a super proccy fun time power, and slow procs are prime here. Has anything changed to diminish it in this way, or is a proc approach still quite effective? I included the Controller ATO purple damage proc here as well to give it a damage IO that procced on every single power within the creeper pet - at least that's how I think it will work. Am I wrong?
  • Power choice seems pretty straightforward, but am I missing any of your favorites? If so, what makes it worth a pick in your opinion?
  • Is it entirely criminal to underslot my shields? I'm pretty sure I can keep teams plenty safe as is, and they make efficient and useful mules.

Thematic considerations and personal preferences:

• I like slow resist - this is evident in my slotting.
  • I am married to fire app - gotta burn!