Turkey Shoot

So im new To Psionic melee and i was not around when it 1st dropped. But i am starting to feel the psi resistance the mobs late in the game seem to have more of. So quick question that may (or may not) have been answered long long ago in the early days when psionic melee was 1st released.

Why doesn't it do Energy damage?

Its easy to criticize a suggestion but can you suggest an alternative?

Maybe the two biggest mistakes the original Live devs made in the design of this game were not balancing the game around (1) animation times and (2) damage types.

Animation times were literally decided by how long the artists' animations for each attack happened to take and this had a direct effect on performance.   Similarly, damage types and damage resistance were determined by aesthetics, not with any concern for game balance.  There was no plan to ensure each damage type was evenly balanced against enemy resistances.  Stuff that was flammable just got no fire resistance.  Things without blood got high lethal resistance.  Etc.  

I don't know who decided late game enemies should be more "strong willed" or whatever the reason is for their higher psi resist, but I assume it was something like that.  It wasn't any conscious attempt to ensure that the damage type was being fairly treated.  Nobody got that consideration.

• Thumbs Up 7

4 hours ago, ZemX said:

Animation times were literally decided by how long the artists' animations for each attack happened to take and this had a direct effect on performance.

Not being a game designer, I've often wondered why long-animation powers didn't have a boost to damage and accuracy as compensation.  Maybe not a supreme damage, but more like, if a short-animation power at light damage could strike twice in the same time as the long-animation power set to light damage, why not set the long one to moderate damage?

• Thumbs Up 3

4 hours ago, Techwright said: