New to MM - Thugs/Kinetics, is this a viable pairing?

Epistasis

Dear Masterminds:

Let me start by saying that 90% of my playtime both in the 'beforetimes' and since returning to CoH has been on Controllers, and most of that as Grav/Kinetics.  Because I'm new to Masterminding, I wanted to start with a secondary that I knew like the back of my hand, so I could provide good care and feeding to my thugs :).  I usually take the entire kinetics tree except for Repel, because I like buffing *that* much ;).

My question is: is this a viable build, since my first 'punk' uses a pistol also? (just got 'equip thugs' and love the transformation).  This is a bit of a themed character and I don't want anything too 'showy' for the secondary, if I were to change.

Recommendations? 

Thanks much,

Epistasis/Counsel 4the Offense

It is *difficult*, but not impossible, to make a Thugs/Kin shine.

Between your own Maneuvers, the Enforcers' Maneuvers and the +Def Aura Pet IOs you should be just about able to softcap your pets defence. And Speed Boost (+Recovery and Travel Speed. Henchmen don't benefit from Recharge buffs) plus Increase Density (Smashing/Energy resistance) are nice buffs to have - the Bruiser in particular will end up hitting some very nice numbers given their own inherent resistances plus another 35% from the Aura IOs.

But lining up a perfect Fulcrum Shift is going to take more work on Thugs/ given the Bruiser's tendency to Melee and the others to stay Ranged. Likewise, Transference/Transfusion positioning may be tricky. Get a good set of keybinds and be prepared to use "Defensive Goto" a lot.

On 4/1/2024 at 1:06 PM, Epistasis said:

Dear Masterminds: