Dark/TA Question about power selection.

KaizenSoze

I have a dark blast/tactical arrow concept blaster.

I had a costume idea first, then powers second.

This is my first blaster using tactical arrow.

My problem is that I have an embarrassment of riches in control.

I can stack 6 mags of immobilizes or 9 mags of holds

Two mag 3 immobilizes.

Three mag 3 holds, two of them aoe.

Slow patch

What are your thoughts on what powers are useful?

I have no choice on the immobilizes.

But the holds are up for debate.

Abyssal Gaze has a 3 sec cast time, but does high damage.

Ice arrow is quick but low damage.

ESD arrow has a long recharge and suppresses your end for a bit.

As for slows, glue arrow feels like a better caltrops in terms of ease of use.

How often do blasters actually use their control powers in PvE?

Last question first: A lot. Many are soft controls though, built into so many other powers. But, even five seconds of hold is a lot of time to a high damage squishy. Controls could save you a lot of hurt, or make things easier for teammates. 

Glue Arrow is caltrops but with more range, really. The disadvantage is you're firing it, though; caltrops tend to be more of a "in front of you before the fight" affair, so you'll find glue just a bit less utilitarian. On the other hand you loose it unto whatever's smashing its face onto your tank and you've got a debilitating AoE DoT you didn't have to run in and target to deploy.

ESD is a powerful hold and drain, but it's more of a control-nuke: needs some slotting to shine, and not up every fight. if you can spare the mods and use Radial Muscle for added end-mod, it can be worth doubling up on that hammer with some more slots; maybe Endmod + End/Accuracy IOs mixed with three from a Hold set. Get that thing up around 120+% drain so you'll have a decent chance of affecting purple minions properly, though don't go overboard trying to maximize.