A Short(-ish) Guide to U.S. Copyright and Trademark Law

Burnt Umber

Introduction:

Intellectual Property (IP) holds a place of personal and professional interest to me.  And, after a number of topics/posts concerning copyright law and trademarks in the forums, I thought I could make something of a reference guide for other players who might have questions on the topic.

That said, a few disclaimers:

First, I am going to try to keep this guide as legally factual as possible.  I am NOT trying to provide legal advice or opinions.  Rather, I am trying to provide a consolidated and clear guide to publicly available information regarding U.S. IP law.

Second, although I am a lawyer, I am NOT your lawyer. I do not know the facts of your circumstances.  I am not representing you, commenting on specifics circumstances, or custom tailoring the information provided.

Third, this guide does not overrule a Dev or GM in an argument over whether you are in the right or in the wrong.  Indeed, they may be operating on much better and more specific guidance.

With those points in mind let’s get started.

Copyright:

I. Subject-Matter

Copyright is a constitutional right granted under Article 1, Section 8 of the U.S. Constitution, which grants copyright holders the exclusive rights to their works for limited duration.  These rights include making copies, distributing, performing, displaying, or making derivative work(s) of that copyrighted work.