new illusionist

Prisme

hello, i'm quite new to the game (played a long time ago back when it was an ncsoft official game but never went over lvl 15).

i wanted to play an illusion / sound controller. it is now lvl 8 and i feel like it's not working at all.

for damage all i have is "spectral wounds" and "apprentice charm".

i have "deceive" which feel like a trap cause ennemies who get killed by mind controlled ennemies doesn't really count (i don't get enhancement, low xp, quest counter doesn't increment..)

sonic resonnance sounded good but all i have is sonic siphon which doesn't feel to change anything to my damage for now and sonic barrier which i can't even use on myself..

what should i do ? wait for lvl 10 and respec ? should i take something else than sonic resonance ? should i drop deceive ?

thanks for your input 🙂

Do you have Blind? This is your core ST hold, also does damage and is needed to set up containment (controllers do extra damage to targets that are held, slept, immobilized or stunned). If you use Spectral Wounds on a foe that you have held with Blind, it will do more damage.

In order to get xp from targets defeated by confused enemies, you need to do damage to them as well. https://homecoming.wiki/wiki/Confuse_(Status_Effect)

That said, Illusion doesn't take off until you get Phantom Army at lvl 18 (and to a lesser extent, Phantasm at lvl 26). You won't be able to use Sonic Barrier or Haven on Phantom Army (they can't be buffed or damaged), but you will be able to use on Phantasm. Not sure if you can use Disruption Field on Phantom Army.

In addition to taking Blind, suggest you pick up Nemesis Staff or Blackwand (depending on your origin) and Sands of Mu, available for free from the P2W vendor. 

• Pizza (Pepperoni) 1

Uunderdog - Rad/Rad Scrapper | Uundertaker - Rad/Dark Corruptor | Uun - MA/Inv Scrapper | Uunison - Grav/Storm Controller | Uuncola - Ice/Temp Blaster | Uundergrowth - Plant/Martial Dominator | Uunstable - SR/Staff Tank