GABB - an updated keybind set

Shenanigunner

I tend to wave the flag for the Technical Guide pretty often, but it's been a long time since I said much about its companion piece, the GABB bindfile set. So for those of you who haven't found it over the years, a brief PSA.

IMVHO, the default binds for City were never very good and represent the state of the art for keyboard control ca. 2005... at best. I know many players have become very comfortable with them and routinely use things like the semicolon as the start of emote entry strings and such. But really... it's 2020 and the Homecoming era really needs a clean, updated, well-planned keyboard interface.

I'm only a middling gamer, but I am a UI/UX/Human Factors designer whose career in such goes back long before the terms "UX" etc. were coined. I like simplicity, intuitiveness, self-teaching and -reinforcing interfaces that are forgiving and adaptable.

Which is why I created my own sweeping bind set long ago, and updated it for the new era, and have polished it over the last year or two. I highly recommend that all players give the GABB - Gunner's Advanced Basic Bindfile - at least one good try, no matter how much it might need a little adaptation from years of "digital memory" of commanding the game.

I won't go into detail here except to post the key chart for quick examination. The complete guide, which walks you through all the binds and highlights those you need to edit for your own installation and preferences, is on the website with the Tech Guide. You'll want both the manual and the little ZIP of the bind files.

You can even try it risk free if you do this:

1. Save your current bind set up with /bindsavefile [game path]\MyOldBinds.txt.
  2. Edit the new bindfile (see the manual), GABB.txt in Notepad, Notepad++ (highly recommended) or any ASCII editor.
  3. Load the new binds using /bindloadfile [PATH]\GABB.txt.
  4. Experiment with the key reference chart at hand.