The Absolute Beginners Guide to Writing Descriptions

Crystal Dragon

Good time zone everyone! With recent questions coming up in General Chat for the Everlasting community I thought I'd take this step to help players that are unfamiliar with description writing for your characters in the game. There's any number of ways to write it out, but there's pointers of what to avoid, and what is safe to add for the best player engagement you can receive as a role player.

• Add what you feel would be rough information for your characters details. This includes physical traits that are visible on first glance, and nothing sexually suggestive. Basic information such as age, apparent sex, known city records information of your character or a list of criminal details that might be known to the public through police records in turn. It doesn't have to be long, or detailed
  • Anything that might actually be detected by those with psionic abilities surface-level thoughts/moods/feelings are not a bad thing to add either. Things like auras, and magical signatures aren't a bad idea to toss into the blender either. But please try to remember your bio can be read by anyone, and if a GM sees bad content, they can and will wipe it and action your account if you are caught doing so repeatedly. 
  • There are specific contents NOT allowed to be put into descriptions, this includes physical attributes that are generally hidden from sight (Chest and, ahem, nethers, no one sees that over clothing in the first glance, please think this one through.) And any content involving real life criminal activity, suggestive content are also not allowed.
  • Tips for engaging with your character, so labeled "hooks" or RP hooks. This could be anything from a quick note of favorite devices and objects they keep on their person, or their posture/expression upon first approach or glance. These things are always good to add, and can change if you wish to any time.