Damage dealer looking to try a controller

Alamo Knight

I just got back to the game, and I've been rebuilding some of my old favorites, as well as trying some new things that weren't around when I left. My main hero was a scrapper and my main villain was a brute, but I also had tons of alts of all ATs. While I did have some controllers, it was by far my least played AT, and the only one that I remember getting past the teens was a Gravity/Storm that was pretty fun to play.

The reason I'm posting is that I wanted to see what might be a fun combo for someone without a lot of experience controlling, especially if it has powersets that weren't in the game around 2009 (when I stopped playing), because it would be fun to do something new. I don't need the best powersets possible, or the consensus best build or anything, just something that will be fun and new to me.

Also, any general advice on how to build and play a controller would be helpful.

I'm no expert, by any means, but I can offer you some general insight.

You're not going to deal a lot of damage (especially at lower levels).  Your primary is control and your secondary is support.  Neither one of those is big on damage.  You will work really well on a team, but solo is likely to be slow early on.  Solo is relatively safe since you can lock down mobs pretty well, but you don't have the damage to capitalize on that.  Controller sets tend to bloom late.  I've done fire/kin and plant/nature, and both primaries really started to get good late in the 20s and into the 30s.  I'm trying to level an Illusion/Rad controller right now, but sub-20, they're kind of thin.

That said, controllers are wonderful on teams.  You're a support character and a potent one.  You don't deal a lot of damage yourself, but you can lock down entire spawns pretty regularly.  Your secondary lets you buff your allies or debuff your foes, too, which makes the whole process easier for your team as a whole.