Staff/Willpower

Vinxnotha

Ok, I am a Blaster at heart. But I found Staff in melee and could not resist. However, I have NO CLUE how to build this. Please someone help me with this. As a total newb to melee, I can't figure out anything for builds. Any help would be appreciated.

First.. I never, ever, ever (did I say ever) want to run out of endurance.

I read somewhere about defense/resist cap. No idea how to achieve that.

My travel powers are Super speed and Super jump.

What is your intended budget, and did you pick will power specifically or just because of the endurance thing? I never played wp, but I did a lot with a staff/ice that was awesome; that requires significant investment.

The caps thing is 45% for defense (referred to as soft cap because you could get more but it won't do any good unless debuffed or against certain foes with extra tohit) and 75% for resistance (on stalkers and most other ats). If you reach one of these caps your survivability will be extremely high. People often chased the defense cap because it was easier to achieve with set bonuses, and technically better survival than the resist cap unless you're on a tank or brute. Defense was also considered better on most stalkers because if you try to placate a foe for an extra critical, other foes will still attack you and can remove your hidden status and therefore the critical. If those foes were missing, you wouldn't lose that hidden status.

You can achieve the defense cap in some sets early and cheaply, especially Sr, but you lose the benefit of layered protection. Choosing a resist based set and hitting the soft cap was difficult and expensive, but gave you much stronger survival assuming you didn't gimp yourself in so doing.