Tripping Traps Question

VV

So, I've mentioned my new Ill/Traps Controller before and how much I am still marveling at it's awesomeness and funness. Near capped defenses across the deck, decent resists, and practically undetectable while she wanders around tossing out pets and traps. But, I want to make sure I am being as effective as possible and I am still learning all the Traps tricks.

Specifically, my questions is, what exactly is "near" in the descriptive line, "Any foes that pass near the [Name] Trap will cause it to detonate." For example, looking in the details of Poison Trap, I find this:  Effect Area: AoE -- 16.00 ft. radius (1 targets max). Does that mean that 16 feet is the trigger radius, or is that just the radius in which it will hit its target?

For Acid Morter it is even more confusing. We have   Power Range:100.00 ft. , Effect Area:AoE -- 8.00 ft. radius (16 targets max). So, does that mean that if an enemy passes within 100 feet of the Mortar, it will shoot at that target?

Speaking of which, how does it choose its one target out of all the available targets in the radius? Is it closest? Random? My selected target?

Edited by VV

1: The self-destruct traps will list the AoE of the EFFECT, like the explosion or the poison gas. They will aggro upon an enemy if the enemy comes close enough for them to make an attack upon it... think of a mob with only melee attacks, and Immobilized... it will attack you if you get close enough to it for its melee attacks (in this case PBAoE) to reach you, but otherwise while it may be aggroed on you, it can't actually activate its attack. This attack self-destructs the trap and triggers the effect, whether explosion or gas cloud.