Mind/Force Fields

Daily

Hi!  I'd love some build help.

I'm looking to help my husband with his controller - Mind/Force Fields.

I would really like a general PvE build help.  He likes the Arcane Flying pool power.

I'm new with slots/IO stuff (or just can't remember), so those tips would really be great with a build.

Honestly, Force Field isn't a great match to Mind Control. Force is just an "ok" set overall, and really needs pets to shine (friendlies you can buff with the ally force fields). Mind has no pets, so that potential synergy is lost. Also, one of Force Field's better powers is Repulsion Bomb, but to get the most out of it, you want to have mobs contained so you can get double damage. Mind doesn't have an AoE immob that would easily allow this to happen.

With that said, I'll go through each set and what powers are best, slotting options, etc.

Mind Control:

Mesmerize, Levitate, and Dominate give Mind the best 1-2-3 punch for single target damage. These three allow you to solo small groups with little trouble. Dominate should eventually be 6-slotted, and both the others should be fairly heavily slotted as well.

Confuse makes enemies attack each other. This can make a big difference when soloing or in small groups, but is not really worth it in larger teams. However, it does have a very good IO set in Malaise Illusions which, when 6-slotted, gives you solid recovery, defense, damage and recharge bonuses.

I usually don't like taking sleeps, but since Mind is primarily a single-target set, Mass Hypno can be a difference maker. You can sleep an entire group for more than 40 seconds, allowing you to take them down one at a time with your 3 single target attacks.

Telekinesis is a VERY difficult power to learn how to use effectively. It is a way to set up containment if you can learn to push a bunch of mobs into a corner and hold them there for a bit. The problem is that it is exceedingly expensive in the form of endurance. Save for later.