Is there a dummies guide to enhancement anywhere?

Balraw

Hello,

As per subject I am looking for a guide to enhancements aimed at a beginner or first character. 

To my shame I didn't become aware of City of Heroes until just before it was closed down as at the time I was deep into Final Fantasy 11.  So I never got to do anything in the game so fast forward now and I don't intend to make the same mistake so have fully dived in.

I am a newbie who is slowly trying to process a lot of information being thrown at me by the game but I am struggling with what I should be doing with enhancements.  I don't have a lot of influence 2 million or so from selling stuff on the AH and well that doesn't seem to get me a lot in terms of enhancements on the AH.

After a few false starts I have settled on a fire / fire sentinel to be my first to push to max and have just be working my way through the stories as all that is new to me.  So I want to experience it at least once and taking my time with it.

So with that in mind should I just slot the stuff I find or buy from the npc. Which does seem vastly more affordable at this point in my CoH adventure though I imagine vastly inferior too. Will that be good enough for what I want to do?

I guess I could look into crafting but my previous mmo experience leads me to believe that can be an expensive option.  Or just suck it up and spend on AH as and when I can afford stuff.

As I said I am not in a rush and will be doing just solo story with maybe some group stuff once I get a bit more confidence.  A general idea of what I should be aiming to do in terms of enhancements would be very welcome and I would offer my thanks in advance for any help.