Sentinel Basics?

H3LLP0P

I’m new to Sentinel, so before I jump in I wanted to get some advice to be sure I have the basic concept down. 

What I’m hoping I can build is something that can start a fight at range, then jump in for melee attacks to finish if needed. All the while being able to build survivability through slotting, etc. 

Is this what a Sentinel is supposed to be or should I be looking for a Blappler or something else for this kind of style?

Any build advice would be helpful as well. Right now I’m considering Dark/Energy.

Please and thank you!

Sentinels don't get any melee attacks in their primary or secondary and only get access to them in the epic pools (lvl 35+). That said, there are quite a few PBAoE attacks and you're likely to be using ranged attacks in close quarters. Don't think of a sentinel as an armored blaster, think of it as a ranged scrapper. 

• Like 1
  • Thumbs Up 1

Uunderdog - Rad/Rad Scrapper | Uundertaker - Rad/Dark Corruptor | Uun - MA/Inv Scrapper | Uunison - Grav/Storm Controller | Uuncola - Ice/Temp Blaster | Uundergrowth - Plant/Martial Dominator | Uunstable - SR/Staff Tank

Uunreal - Fire/Time Corruptor | Uunrest - Dark/TA Blaster | Uunseen - Ill/Poison Controller | Uuncool - Cold/Beam Defender | Uunderground - Earth/Earth Dominator | Uunknown - Mind/Psi Dominator | Uunplugged - Stone/Elec Brute

Uunfair - Archery/TA Corruptor | Uunsung - DP/Ninja Blaster | Uunflammable - Fire/Nature Controller | Uunflappable - WM/WP Brute | Uundead - Dark/Dark Tank | Uunfit - Water/Martial Blaster  | Uunwrapped - Dark/Dark Dominator

Uunchill - Ice/Kinetics Corruptor | Uunpleasant - En/En Stalker | Uunbrella - Rad/Rad Sentinel | Uunsafari - Beasts/Traps MM | Uungnome - Nature/Seismic Defender | Uunsavory - Poson/Sonic Defender | Uunicycle - BS/Shield Scrapper