Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted

So I've always wanted to try this combo, but never got around to it.  Today I had a concept that fit this but then it turned into a Stone/Shield Stalker instead.  So while I level that guy I thought I'd put the question to all of you:

 

Which AT is your favorite to put this potent 'porting combo on?

Posted

I prefer Tanks or Stalkers.  With Stalkers, you can add your Stalker set with stealth proc to say Shield Charge.  So when you crash in, you'll re-stealh nearly every time. Then Lightning Rod from Stealth for Crit attack. Gotta be quick about it though 😛

  • Thumbs Up 1

 

  • 2 weeks later
Posted
  On 3/2/2024 at 4:10 AM, JJDrakken said:

I prefer Tanks or Stalkers.  With Stalkers, you can add your Stalker set with stealth proc to say Shield Charge.  So when you crash in, you'll re-stealh nearly every time. Then Lightning Rod from Stealth for Crit attack. Gotta be quick about it though 😛

Expand  

Curious about this. Doesn’t Shield Charge not break hide? I also thought Shield Charge and Lightning Rod couldn’t crit, but I could be wrong.

Posted (edited)
  On 3/11/2024 at 3:13 AM, StriderIV said:

Curious about this. Doesn’t Shield Charge not break hide? I also thought Shield Charge and Lightning Rod couldn’t crit, but I could be wrong.

Expand  

 

No, do to the triggering of the Proc.  Dmg is dealt first & then proc goes off. I do it all time, with my BS/Shield Stalker.  Shield Charge, then Assassin Strike or my Judgement(which gets stealth hit), etc...

 

If anyone doubts me, go test it out yourself.

Edited by JJDrakken

 

Posted
  On 3/11/2024 at 3:13 AM, StriderIV said:

Curious about this. Doesn’t Shield Charge not break hide?

Expand  

 

You are correct!

 

Essentially neither of these powers interact with hide at all. They gain no crit benefit, and they do not disrupt it.

 

Technically, what @JJDrakken mentioned is true - they would still pop the hide proc. However, you are already still hidden anyhow, so there is no benefit from the proc.

 

Generally you would want to open with one or the other of LR or SC, then follow up with actual crittable aoes immediately. Even without the ATO proc they will crit, as you are still hidden.

 

This is because the Psuedopet is doing the initial damage rather than you. 

 

 

  • Thanks 1
Posted
  On 3/11/2024 at 2:13 PM, Onlyasandwich said:

 

You are correct!

 

Essentially neither of these powers interact with hide at all. They gain no crit benefit, and they do not disrupt it.

 

Technically, what @JJDrakken mentioned is true - they would still pop the hide proc. However, you are already still hidden anyhow, so there is no benefit from the proc.

 

Generally you would want to open with one or the other of LR or SC, then follow up with actual crittable aoes immediately. Even without the ATO proc they will crit, as you are still hidden.

 

This is because the Psuedopet is doing the initial damage rather than you. 

 

 

Expand  

 

You are NOT Hidden when you smash into something. Cuz you get your coming out of Hide Dmg bonus. Then Proc goes off and you re-hide and then can again do out of hide dmg bonus attack.

 

I literally do this all the damn time on Pansexual Pagan. I have actual experience with it.

 

Posted (edited)
  On 3/11/2024 at 2:20 PM, JJDrakken said:

ou are NOT Hidden when you smash into something

Expand  

Hi JJ! This was not meant as an attack on you, but an explanation of the mechanic for these two specific powers.

 

It may seem unintuitive, but due to the special mechanics behind Shield Charge and Lightning Rod, indeed they do not remove you from Hide.

 

You can test this by:

  • Removing the hide ATO proc.
  • Using Shield Charge or Lightning Rod. Note when doing so that they do not crit, as they are not capable of it.
  • Follow up with a different power - it will crit, as you are still hidden.

 

You do have to follow up with your next attack pretty quickly, as otherwise the reprisal from the mobs will remove your hidden status. However, Shield Charge and Lightning Rod themselves will not.

 

 

Edited by Onlyasandwich
  • Thumbs Up 2
Posted
  On 3/11/2024 at 3:16 PM, Onlyasandwich said:

Hi JJ! This was not meant as an attack on you, but an explanation of the mechanic for these two specific powers.

 

It may seem unintuitive, but due to the special mechanics behind Shield Charge and Lightning Rod, indeed they do not remove you from Hide.

 

You can test this by:

  • Removing the hide ATO proc.
  • Using Shield Charge or Lightning Rod. Note when doing so that they do not crit, as they are not capable of it.
  • Follow up with a different power - it will crit, as you are still hidden.

 

You do have to follow up with your next attack pretty quickly, as otherwise the reprisal from the mobs will remove your hidden status. However, Shield Charge and Lightning Rod themselves will not.

 

 

Expand  

This was my understanding as well, thanks Only.  It does seem rather confusing! LR + SC can’t crit either, since they are “psueduopets”, correct?

  • Thumbs Up 1
Posted
  On 3/11/2024 at 3:27 PM, StriderIV said:

This was my understanding as well, thanks Only.  It does seem rather confusing! LR + SC can’t crit either, since they are “psueduopets”, correct?

Expand  

 

It also means that even though you'll see "assassins mark" trigger frequently, it actually won't refresh build up in your tray if it is LR/SC causing it.

*note this could be outdated as I haven't taken my sav/shield for a spin in awhile. 

  • Thumbs Up 1

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...