Dual Blades / Fiery brute on SO's - should I bother doing the DB combos or just use the highest-DPA attacks?

Icono04

I am a pretty experienced CoX veteran, but Brute is one of those AT's which for some reason have never clicked with me. And combo-builder powersets in general are outside my comfort zone, too. But I signed up to play a DB/fire brute on a themed team where set-IO's are not allowed unless the pieces happen to drop from killed arrested mobs, which means I have to "build" with no set bonuses in mind. So in order to suck a little less than I already do, the question to this forum is whether I should chase DB's various combos (Empower, Weaken etc.) or just string together my highest-DPA attacks and not worry about combos?

Thanks in advance.

PS: I have tried to search this forum to see if this has been answered before, but did not find anything. If I missed a post about DB combos, perhaps someone can just point me to it - thanks.

Combos will be your wheelhouse using SOs. You have to get rather high in recharge in order to validate skipping them. Attack Vitals I believe the the main one to use and sub in others as needed. 

• Thanks 1

Top 10 Most Fun 50s.

1. Without Mercy: Claws/ea Scrapper. 2. Outsmart: Fort 3. Sneakers: Stj/ea Stalker. 4. Emma Strange: Ill/dark Controller. 5. Project Next: Ice/stone Brute. 6. Waterpark: Water/temp Blaster. 6. Mighty Matt: Rad/bio Brute. 7. Without Hesitation: Claws/sr Scrapper. 8. Within Reach: Axe/stone Brute. 9. Without Pause: Claws/wp Brute.  10. Chasing Fireworks: Fire/time Controller. 

"Downtime is for mortals. Debt is temporary. Fame is forever."

On 8/20/2024 at 5:52 PM, Without_Pause said:

Attack Vitals I believe the the main one to use and sub in others as needed. 

Is that the general consensus - that Attack Vitals is the best combo in most situations? Good thing you said that, I had in my head that Sweep was more useful; maybe because I am just stuck in the old "Must Have Moar AoE!" mindset.