The Best Defense - Beginner's Advice for IOs, Builds, and Survivability

Cheli

Hi!

I see these kinds of questions brought up a lot in help chat in-game, so I figured I would give kind of a basic idea here and compile a rough list of what IO sets give what bonuses, and a little advice and personal opinion on goals for putting together an IO build.

So BIG DISCLAIMER that I'm by no means an expert, just someone who's trying to give a little bit of a primer for people completely new to IOs and putting together characters. ALSO SECOND BIG DISCLAIMER that most of my experience (as will become abundantly clear) is in building for survivability, mostly because my personal philosophy is that your personal survivability is probably the most important part of your character. Most of my build experience is in putting together scrappers, stalkers, brutes, and blasters - but most of the stuff below applies just as well to most other ATs. I admit I am basically clueless when it comes to a few ATs (Mastermind and kheldians mostly), though, so if you mostly play those take the advice below with a grain of salt.

I'm not aiming this at any particular level of wealth... cost of optimized builds will vary widely, so I'm just talking about the game as it is, under the assumption you can afford pretty much whatever you want. If you can't.. well, there're guides for that too. xP

So, what do I build for?

This is a personal choice; however, in my opinion given how IO set bonuses work, the IOs and powers available to us and my personal feelings about how useful it is to have a self-sufficient character, I think the most important priorities generally are to search out ways to maximize set bonuses for defense, resistance and/or recharge. These are usually my priorities when I'm building, though they might come in different orders depending on precisely which powersets a particular character is using. For the absolute beginner, though, it's useful to know a few other things.