Dark/Cold soloing ability (AVs?)

selfunconsciousness

Hey everyone, I'm pretty new to theory-crafting on this game and have been looking into a powerset combination to really sink my time and effort into (main it basically).  I want it to be something that doesn't feel like it completely leans on one game-breaking or altering mechanic in order to be strong like perma-PA (no disrespect) or seeds of confusion.  I also like having abilities that are powerful but only if used correctly, and force me to have a more tactical playstyle.  For context, I currently have a plant/storm at level 38 which I thoroughly enjoy, but I feel like my single target damage is low enough that soloing AVs (something I'd like to do) may be difficult with no -regen in storm.  Also, I just got a painful surprise whooping from Longbow when they resisted my seeds of confusion which makes me feel like it too heavily leans on the confusion mechanic to be strong.  

I'm interested in Dark/Cold because it seems to have several strong powers that are also situational enough to require more thought than just memorizing a rotation, as well as team support and -regen in /Cold.    I'm curious if anyone has experience with this powerset combo that could help me make a decision to more deeply invest into it.  Does Dark/ put out enough damage to solo AVs?  If not, would adding sorcery with Arcane Bolt/Enflame help?  Does /Cold have enough -regen to solo AVs?  Does not having a self heal present a challenge?   Am I being a fool for reconsidering my Plant/Storm for the reasons above?

I've also toyed with the idea of Fire/Dark, but at first glimpse Fire/ seems too simple for my tastes (stand in the middle of enemies while untouchable and DoT them down).  I may be wrong though.  I’m also open to other archetypes completely if they play similar to the way I’ve described above. I’ve never touched dominator or VEATS. 

Thank you in advance for any insight you can offer!

Edited by selfunconsciousness