AE Questions (Geez, that's original!)

Retroman

I'm completely new to the Architect, but I wanted to try my hand at creating something simple.

Basically, I set it up as a Defeat All Skulls, Check the Safe, and Arrest BoneBreaker.  After some thought, I decided to add a Rescue Hostage to the mix.  I named the hostage, etc then saved and entered the mission.

The Nav window looks like this:

1223425452_AENav.jpg.26fde24d9c1955d8d1c0544a8dcf0937.jpg

First off, the hostage isn't even mentioned.  I turned on Invisibility and walked to the mission end room.  No hostage at all.  I looked everywhere on all 3 floors for the hostage . . . Nothing.

Secondly, look at the smaller print in the window.  What the heck does 1 Safe, Bonebreaker, Defeat all enemies mean?  Where did I go wrong?  And how do I fix this?

Help!  😕

Hm... looks like you wrote "Defeat all Skulls, Check the safe, Arrest Bonebreaker" in the "Compass Active Task Text" field in your mission editor.

That place is more suitable for a general reminder what your mission is about, or perhaps a general description of the location, like "Investigate the office" or such.

Each objective you add to the mission will have its own text that shows up in the navbar. If you don't enter this yourself, the AE will put something like what you see in your screenshot.

I will use a Boss objective as an example, similar to your Bonebreaker.

Here is how my objective's Boss Text section is set up.

Navigation Text (Plural) and (Singular) are the fields you need to look for. If you have just one boss, just add text in the singular field. "Defeat Bonebreaker" for example.

If you had two bosses you could write like I did, and the AE would automatically prepend a number in front of that line. I have three bosses so in my mission it shows up like "3 fire-stealin' horses to catch", and as you defeat each boss, the number goes down. When there is just one boss left, the Singular text is shown instead.