Inv/Claws

Scarlet Shocker

This looks like a fun combo (on paper - I have no experience of either set in any meaningful sense) but there's something in the back of my mind saying it should be avoided. I have a half-whispered hint of a memory saying don't go there. Am I mistaken? Is it viable? More importantly will it be fun to play. What are the advantages and pitfalls?

I've tried to work something out in Mids, but it's giving me grief - I've no clue where to start so any input is welcome. Thanks

The Ghost Slaying Axe. The very best there is. When you absolutely, positively got to kill every motherspectre in the room, accept no substitutes.

It's viable for sure, and great fun.

Advantages:

- extremely potent in the early game. You get many good attacks fast, they're light on end.

- Spin is a monster on a Tanker. Tankers/Brutes got a beefed up version of Claws to start with, and the Tanker buffs pushed that further by increasing radius and target cap.

- having your best singletarget attack as a ranged power (Focus) is quite convenient for aggro control.

- a KB-to-KD IO in Shockwave will turn it into great AoE control + damage + aggro at range.

Pitfalls:

- offensive output will scale down in the later stages of the game relative to some other secondaries who deal more exotic damage or get access to their cornerstone powers later

- Claws' optimal performance relies on constant machine gun attacks, keeping Follow Up +DAM stacked as much as possible. This may not play well with some playstyles, should you want to be more focused on repositioning for aggro purposes

The advantages are ++++ and the pitfalls are -. I think it's a great combo. Not a high-end one, but not a stinker either.

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later

interesting, thanks for the input