A Newbie in need of assistance

Insomm

Hello there!

I started playing CoX just a few months back when I found out about Homecoming through Strippin's stream. Having never played the game previously, I have run into countless walls.

For a few weeks I played a lot, and I mean, A LOT. I have a couple characters in the 30s and several others that range from teens into the 20s. Truth is, I leveled mostly through grinding DFB and (getting carried in) radio missions later on.

The one thing I wanted to try the most, however, is a tank. I have attempted it multiple times, but I just can't seem to figure it out.

I have spent countless hours reading guides in the old forums through the wayback machine, the wiki, and some of the posts here, but I still seem to be stuck with the same problem I had before.

Today I created a Dark/WarM tank and decided to level by myself. I set notoriety to -1/x8 (after a few levels) and enjoyed the feel of slowly draining a mob of Arachnos soldiers through a few of the starting missions. As soon as I hit level 10, I went to a new contact who asked me to deal with some Skulls. While I could take several Arachnos previously, I feel like as much as 5 Skulls are a struggle for me.

While I think I have a grasp of enchantments (or at least what they stand for, IO sets, frankenslotting, etc), I think that might be what I am struggling with. I have seen people with level 20-30 characters tanking massive amounts of monsters in radio groups with ease, yet I can't seem to survive much past the alpha strike.

The one brute I did take into the 20s and went for radio missions roughly 3 months back would literally eat the alpha strike, die, and then get revived to do the same for the next pack of mobs. I know, I should've been running a Tanker from the beginning.

So here are my questions/TL;DR:

What is a good/simple tanker power setup for a complete newbie to the game with no resources for expensive IO slotting and lackluster knowledge of the game?