Defender grouping questions

Osprey39

I am relatively new to this game.  I played a bit back in live but not a great deal.  I don't even think I got to level 20.  I enjoyed the game back then but I couldn't convince any of my normal crew to take it up with me so I stopped playing.  When I heard about Homecoming, I decided I wanted to try it again so here I am.  I have tried out brute, corrupter, MM and stalker but I wanted to try a more support oriented character so I made a defender. 

I went with trick arrow/archery for flavor's sake and I have noticed since I hit about level 7 that my time to kill on a single mob has gotten really long.  While I can solo most stuff safely, it's very slow because I kill so slowly.  No problem thought I, I'm a support class so I will just start looking to join groups.  Well, the night before last I grouped up for the first time with my defender and I was pretty disappointed with the experience.  There was one other defender in the group but that wasn't a problem, we weren't stepping on each other's toes or anything.  It just seemed that with a full group, the content became laughably easy.  I felt like I was contributing little to nothing to the team because my debuffs weren't necessary for 8 people to kill orange/red cons.  

There's my back story, and here are my questions: 

Is running missions in a full group always that easy?  (because honestly, even if I were one of the DPS classes, I would have found that boring)

Are debuffers ever 'needed' to do group content?  (I don't want to invest a bunch of time leveling a character that can't solo and isn't wanted in groups)

Thanks in advance for taking time to answer.

• Like 2

Is running missions in a full group always that easy?  (because honestly, even if I were one of the DPS classes, I would have found that boring)