Building a Crab Spider for Dummies

iWeasle

Hi all, semi-newbie here. I've played the game a fair bit but never at level 50, so I understand how the game works, but not how it works, if that makes sense.

I'm trying to figure out how I want the Crab Spider I'm leveling to look in the end, which I really have no idea on. With most toons I have more intuition but with this one, I'm not sure. Do I want attacks from the base Soldier list? Do I want to stack Crab and Wolf Armours (I read somewhere that their resistance bonus is negligible?)? Is Combat Training: Defensive worth it? How do the Grenades, Suppression, and Heavy Burst compare? There are so many abilities I want and nowhere near enough slots.

I'm not overly concerned with my build being the best, just viable and fun, and perhaps not too squishy. I'm also not asking for anyone to make the build for me, just some tips to help push me in the right direction.

What I know I'm after is stacking AS Tactics with the Tactics pool (is Vengeance good?) and getting all the Summons. I've been using the Sorcery pool for Flight/Teleportation, and used the Knockdown spell before the level 24 Respec, but I honestly don't know if there's space for a travel power. If not I can get by on Ninja Run but I would like it. I was also planning on taking Soul Mastery unless there's a good reason not to. Idk if it's practical or not but I want Omega Maneuver just because the concept of warping in a Doomsday Bomb makes me giggle.

The other thing is slotting. Oh gods, slotting. When my Warshade got AE Powerleveled into the 40s I started reading guides so I understand the basics, but I don't know what I need outside of "I will need so many End Reduction Enhancements for my toggles" and I really don't know about set bonuses. Any advice in that regard would be very much appreciated.

Thank you very much!

Do I want attacks from the base Soldier list?