New brute Broadsword + Dark or rad?

Project

So I'm settling on a brute and I'm pretty sure I'll pick Broadsword (maybe Axe, but broadsword looks slightly cooler :D) 
Anyways, eitherway I need a secondary, and I have no experience with either dark or Rad armor - any pros and cons I should be aware off?

They seem rather similar, however, Dark seems slightly all over the place with several different utility powers, and Rad seems very focused on healing, resistance and shields.

I know Dark has a damage aura, but Rad will pump out more damage. This can be important for when BS is more resisted, see DE. BS/BA are slower attacking sets. The fact that Rad offers +Recharge will help speed up your attacks by a default. You can also one slot Beta Decay with a -Res proc. I'm not saying Dark is bad. I just don't really see synergy between the sets which isn't also covered by using Rad, and Rad does offer benefits to BS.

If you ever do want to do BA, I say go BA/ea Scrapper. Crits help with BA being resisted, but it does a truckload of damage anyway. BA begs for +Recharge and the end to pull it off. EA covers those. EA also doesn't need something like Parry so you might as well add in a better DPA attack. 

Top 10 Most Fun 50s.

1. Without Mercy: Claws/ea Scrapper. 2. Outsmart: Fort 3. Sneakers: Stj/ea Stalker. 4. Emma Strange: Ill/dark Controller. 5. Project Next: Ice/stone Brute. 6. Waterpark: Water/temp Blaster. 6. Mighty Matt: Rad/bio Brute. 7. Without Hesitation: Claws/sr Scrapper. 8. Within Reach: Axe/stone Brute. 9. Without Pause: Claws/wp Brute.  10. Chasing Fireworks: Fire/time Controller. 

"Downtime is for mortals. Debt is temporary. Fame is forever."

Really great points - thanks. 

It seems to me like Dark Armour tries to be a swiss army knife - It got pretty much every keyword in the game jammed into it, but I have a hard time figuring out if it is a good or a bad thing 😄