Scrapper Newb

Snarky

I play Brutes.  I 50d and incarnated and I/o one Elec/Elec scrapper back on live.  Was a beast.  After a few weeks I imploded it for the enhancers

i do not understand Scrappers.  So when I go to roll one I tend to stop because of the questions I have.  I do not like weapon sets.  So I look at Dark Melee and Kinetic Melee. Both these sets say in the power description that they only crit versus minions and Lts. As opposed to Broadsword that states it crits versus everything. Soooo.  That confuses me

was thinking of a Dark Melee Willpower. It is a combo that is meh on a Brute but could run better on a Scrapper.  But not without crits 

the other option is the Kinetic Melee Willpower but not sure if the Kinetic would be better on a Brute. Not a power set I have a lot of experience with

any comments opinions appreciated thanks

Yeah I been looking at the Scrapper thread by Galaxy Brain. Good stuff.  I plan to I/O and grab some AoE from ancillary or patron pools

my main question revolves about Crits from Dark Melee and Kinetic Melee. Do they crit bosses?  Because the power selection screen info does not indicate they do. Unless I missed it.  Also the Scrapper crit appears to be melee attacks only? So none of the ranged attacks from Epic/Patron Will crit?  Finally KM has a ranged attack. So that will not crit?  Thank you. Prob will not go for KM on Scrapper after reading the thread. Oof that looks bad. But a DM/Invul Scrapper that is I/O’d?  Could be a real possibility if it will outdamage the Brute version significantly 

As far as I know, they crit on everything. DM/WP is such a powerful combo it might get boring. Just make sure you get some AoE from Epic Pools and you're set. DM/Inv is my main now, better in my opinion than  DM/WP but more expensive to build. Can't comment on Kinetic melee, tried it once but got bored of it very soon.