Which Pet?

Clave Dark 5

So I'm trying to plan out a build for a Thermal/Energy Blast Defender and was thinking of getting the pet, following some advice I saw here.  The advice said that a Patron Pool pet was a good bet because with the Thermal buffering a pet can be made pretty strong, but I have zero experience with PP pets, so which one would be best for this?  Any advice on that pet's slotting too?

This also leads into a second question: I'm assuming having a good buffed pet might be more a soloing tactic, but I don't actually solo all that much, so would a pet under these circumstances even be the best thing to go with and should I consider another avenue and skip a pet?

╔═══════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════╗

Clave's Sure-Fire Secrets to Enjoying City Of Heroes
Don't bother with those farming chores...
Skip your homework on the Market...
Play any power sets that you want...
Because this game is easy.  Go have fun!

You'll be perfectly fine, promise! 

╚═══════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════╝

Heh.  “PP pets...”

But I digress!  What are you hoping to do, man?

My experience is mostly with the coralax, but from what I’ve seen the Mu and Arachnobot play at range.  Fortunatas fight at range with mostly Psi damage.

Coralax seems to have the most melee.  Fortunata, Mu, and Disruptor have mez with damage types being the main differences.

Unless you want the Coralax Punch and Haymaker, I’d pick based on the other Patron powers in each pool and theme.

• Like 2

With how fast pace the end game is at this moment PP pets can’t really keep up. I would skip PP pets right now. IMO all pets are useless unless you’re a themed player. I can solo just fine without a pet. Only pet worth getting is the OP incarnate pets. Just stick with that. Save your slots for something worth wild.