Psychic Blast / Martial Combat build help

Yokozuna

Howdy friends. This is my first build attempt at a blaster, much less this pairing. There's a weird choice of throw sand, which I don't think is that popular, but is a thematic must for my character. The slotting, however, was me trying to make the best out of a knowingly bad power pick (I'm a slave to theme, what can I say). Anyway, any feed back would be appreciated!

psy martial.mxd

Having played in game and leveling up more, I'm finding a pretty big disconnect between the extreme distances psychic offers, and the melee of martial (specifically, that burst, dragon's tail, and eagle claw are underwhelming). I am leaning towards taking those out, though this has a noticeable impact on my defense (specifically smashing/lethal and fire/cold). However, I could add in will domination to bump things up ever so slightly, and add a fly-hover LOTG package to bump up the ol' recharge a little. However I defer to anyone who knows what they're talking about!

• 1 month later
On 6/27/2022 at 11:53 AM, MRPINK said:

'm finding a pretty big disconnect between the extreme distances psychic offers, and the melee of martial (specifically, that burst, dragon's tail, and eagle claw are underwhelming).

If you aren't using Ki Push, then I can see the issue.

I don't know if you are soloing or not, but Ki Push [slotted up with x2 Accuracy, increased knockback, increased recharge, Blistering Cold: Chance for Hold, ...] will keep any one non-EB/AV busy if you Ki Push-use another power - ki-push - use another power (repeat) and send them flying into a wall or into a corner. This goes for bosses. 

This will give you the ability to fight close in when you want to use your martial arts attacks or just keep a single target busy so that the others in your team don't need to deal with them. 

They can't attack while they are flying through the air and the chance for hold increases your ability to stop them from attacking you.