RE: The early days at lvl 40

I was thumbing through the manual as I do every once in a while.

The original lvl cap was 40.

What was the reasoning for the increase to 50?

This was right as I started playing, so lvl is all I remember.

Edited by JasperStone
Changed title better reflect content

/e poofgone

• JasperStone changed the title to RE: The early days at lvl 40
23 minutes ago, JasperStone said:

It's pretty typical of MMOs to raise a level cap when adding new content to the high end of a game.  Issue 1 added Peregrine Island and RWZ as well as the enemy groups Malta, Carnies, and Praetorians.

It's probably more noteworthy they didn't keep adding content that raised the level cap.  It wouldn't be until Issue 20 that Incarnates added something to max level (even if it wasn't actually raising the cap).  Instead CoH went horizontal with content, adding zones, powers, story arcs, TFs, trials, new systems like IOs, etc.

• Thumbs Up 5

That was a fun time. Largely because I was playing so casually and my highest hero at the time was a level 16 fire/fire tanker. My mind was absolutely blown that they were going to raise the level cap to 50. I hadn't even made it out of Steel Canyon so to me, it was incredible you had players who had chewed through the content and had a number of characters at max level. What I didn't know at the time that players just had a tank bring like a hundred Freakshow into a dumpster and leveled instantly. There were no caps on the number of mobs taunted so this was abused mercilessly.