Computer Buying - late 2023

Techwright

It's the 2023 holiday buying season (at least in the USA), and as a desktop tech, I'm getting asked again as to which brands of laptops and desktop PCs to consider or avoid purchasing.  I'm also being asked for details to consider when weighing options. 

I have my thoughts on this, and have doled them out to some already, but I know a lot of folks in the forums are techs or power users, and I'd like to ask for feedback from you.  Maybe you've seen or considered something I have not, and I can both learn something new and add that to recommendations for shopping friends.

Also, I know little of non-iPad tablet PCs, they just don't come up in my work, so those with advice in that field are invited to contribute.

One last note, those that ask me are usually not seeking a gaming computer, so if you could clarify gaming choices vs. standard use choices, that'd be great!

If you're good with computers, buying something used, (but in good condition), can save you a ton of money.  Even using an expensive gaming laptop, though, I've found the experience to be somewhat lacking, and prefer gaming on a desktop.  Of course, depending upon your available space or other extenuating circumstances, if a laptop is your only choice, then you do what you gotta.  My current go-to is off-lease business desktops, (mini- to mid-towers, NOT SFFs), then adding more RAM and/or a graphics card for gaming.  Just be sure to check the available space and power supply output vs the additional power consumption said card will impose!

Not Dell/Alienware.

Laptop wise, I've been fairly happy with my Lenovo Legion for the last... year and a half? Probably get another - though with a larger screen - when it's time to replace it. It'll give pretty reasonable game performance, and it doesn't look "gamery" so it fits in well with a business or school use, too.