Hello all I was just wondering why so many recommend going dark/dark corrupter instead of defender these days?

StarseedWarrior

I am an old school vet and used to main one and loved it, its versatile and I really enjoyed the crippling enemies while leaching health for my teammates. If its all about damage why not go dark blaster? I am just curious and new to allot of things to the game I was not here for every live update.

Thanks!

people like the extra damage a corrupter gives when scourge kicks in. damage and defense are the FOTM thesedays

personally i play defenders rather than corrs as the primary is the most important part. i like having the ‘best’ version of the primary set and feel i have more license as a defender to focus on the secondary effects of my blast powers, rather than needing to build for damage

e.g on a /dark defender i’d go all out on -acc and team support, rather than focusing on damage

a corrupter would definitely be better for solo though

Dark Blast has DoTs which pair well with Scourge.  Also while Defenders get a slight increase in -tohit in Dark Blast, Corruptors are possibly blasting more and thus stacking those -tohit blasts

• Like 1

I'd guess it's mainly for more damage, to balance out the defensive, control heavy nature of both Dark Blast and Dark Miasma. Corruptor has enough -tohit, -damage, healing, and lockdown to make a team immortal. Boosting those further as Defender is overkill.

There are also a couple of cross-AT power quirks that benefit Corruptors:

* Corruptor's Dark Servant is identical to Defender's.

* Corruptor's Life Drain self-heals 5% more than Defender's.

I'd guess the main draw of going Defender is the -30% resistance on Tar Patch, compared to the Corruptor's -22.5%.

• Like 1

On 1/12/2024 at 11:38 PM, Ringo said: