CrusaderDroid's Powerset Suggestion Thread (open to requests!)

Hi there! 

As an aspiring game designer, I've got quite a few ideas for powersets that could be added to the game. I don't want to spam the forum with them, though, so I figure it would be easier to keep them all contained in one thread.

I'm open to feedback about anything I post. I'm still learning the game and its design, so I might make some mistakes in the importance or power of certain mechanics.

I'm also open to requests to make up rough drafts of powersets! Pitch me an idea and I'll try and spin it into a complete powerset for you. If you have a cool idea but don't know exactly what it would look like, I can help with that.

I'll keep this post updated with links to all of the other powersets posted in this thread.

My Powersets:

Primal Forces

Trick Shot

Venom Blast

Powered Weaponry

Requested Sets:

Edited by CrusaderDroid
Renamed Sorcerous Blast to Primal Forces. Added Venom Blast, Powered Weaponry.
  • Thanks 1
  • Thumbs Up 1

Aspiring game designer and minotaur main.

Anyone can tear something down. The true talent is building it back up again, better than before.

My collection of powerset suggestions - open to comments and feedback!

Posted (edited)

So while any power set can be magic, none of them really quite feel like magic.

Specifically: Look at Doctor Strange, Merlin, or that annoying Wizard in your D&D sessions. The fireball they throw is the least creative thing they can do. Their actual powerset is well beyond any accurate representation in City of Heroes right now. You can say Sorcery works, and to an extent it does, but at the end of the day you're still sitting on Fire Blast and either having to pick a rainbow of colors for your powers or accepting that this particular mage of yours is just really fire-happy.