SS, TW, or Kin to pair with /Rad?

NemeanLion

I am predominantly a solo player and I don't have fortunes to spend on IO sets. I used to be a hardcore player back in CoH's heyday, but now with adult responsibilities and children, I'm more of a casual player, getting on for an hour or two a night.

I used to have a SS/Elec Brute way back when, so while I know SS is old as dirt, it's the gold standard almost every other set is measured against. It also has that nice "superhero" feel to it's smashiness.

Titan Weapon I have limited experience with, and I know it's painful at low levels until you get a decent attack chain and Build Momentum, but from what I read on these forums, it's an absolute BEAST later on.

Kinetic Melee I have almost zero experience with, but it looks neat, and I can color the energy gold to maintain my "divine power" theme, but from what I hear, it's very "meh" at best.

I'm sold on Radiation Armor because nowadays I'm a filthy casual so the "overtuned" armor set I've never played before sounds fun to me and I like the nice utility belt of powers it has.

I concur that TW is very slow going early on.  I couldn't get into kinetic melee, and the effect of the build-up siphoning damage from enemies, while cool on paper, just doesn't seem like enough of a payoff to me.  SS is still a very good set, though.  Have you tried street justice, radiation melee, or psionic melee?