Mouse Suddenly Not Recognised After Reboot

Cinnder

This isn't really a CoH issue, but I thought I'd see if anyone here has any advice, as searching on the web hasn't provided a solution for me yet.

I have an Alienware Aurora R5 system that I've been using for a few years with the standard Dell 5-button USB corded mouse that came with it. 

Over the past several months, often when I reboot the machine it no longer sees the mouse, and when I try disconnecting and reconnecting it the system says 'USB device not recognised.'  Shutting down the PC including a power cord disconnect doesn't help.  I've turned off the option in device manager that allows the system to power down the relevant USB devices.  If I let Windows search for new drivers or look on the Dell website there isn't any update to download.

The only thing that seems to work is to try plugging the mouse into port after port until one finally recognises it.  Sometimes it's actually the same port it was originally plugged into.  Today it wouldn't work in any of the 6 available rear USB ports, but it worked when I plugged it into any of the front ports.

I get the same behaviour if I try any of my spare mice, so it seems to be more of a system or port issue than a problem with the mouse itself.  Interestingly, the USB keyboard never has a problem.

It's working again now, but I live in fear that after the next reboot all the USB ports may decide they don't see mice anymore.

Does anyone have any ideas?