Is there a way to force Assassin's Strike powers to root you during their animation?

Taira

I'm a habitual button masher and I have a habit of always moving when in melee combat from other MMOs that I play. This has been mildly annoying for me in City of Heroes, because most melee attacks root you in place during their animation, but it hasn't been an actual problem yet. I just started playing a Stalker and I'm having a big problem due to the way I play. I've found that when you use your Assasssin's Strike power while Hidden, you do not get rooted in place for the animation. However, the endurance cost is paid up front and if you move at all, the attack is canceled. This leads to me frequently instantly draining my endurance bar as I run up and mash my Assassin's Strike, paying the endurance cost 5+ times as I constantly cancel the attack because it doesn't root me like every other melee power in the game.

I get that this is a playstyle issue and I can fix it by just not moving when I Assassin's Strike, but I'm not really trying to break a 15+ year old habit at the moment, I'm not super attached to Stalker and I can easily just switch this toon over to being a Scrapper if there is no workaround for this, but I figured I'd come and ask if anyone else has experienced this, knows a way to make the Assassin's Strike powers root you like everything else, or has a different workaround for the problem.

• Like 2

That sounds like a conundrum. Nothing I can think of to root you in place. Can try playing with Hide off. I'm pretty sure you can still build Assassin's Focus for the AS crit. Or keep Hide on and start your chain with your strongest attack (Other than AS). Will get a crit with that attack, and be out of Hide so no Slow AS.