An Overly Long Tangent Talking About Programming and How to Use It In Roleplay (TM)

McSpazz

Oh boy! Here we go again! Another tangent! As I promised in my post on hacking, I'm going to talk some about programming. What it is, what it isn't, and how you can best represent it in your roleplay. As a reminder, while I have a degree in computer science, this is all fiction and intended as a fun thing to do. If you don't want to take my opinions here to heart, you certainly don't have to!

1. What is Programming?

At the core of programming is logic. A series of statements that yield a result. Not only do you need a logical step by step means of reaching your goal, but you also need to phrase it in a way that makes sense to the language you are writing in. While general principles of logic and an understanding of how a computer works on the back end is always important, every programming language has its own quirks and syntax that can complicate implementation.

It is very important to remember, however, that not all programming languages are created equal. Some are only good for very specific tasks (like SQL) while others are better for web development (like CSS or .NET) and others still are useful for a ton of different applications but simply knowing how to program in that language isn't going to make you able to understand all of those different applications (like Python, Java, or every variant of C)

The hardest part of programming isn't necessarily making the code itself. The two big things that end up taking up most of a coder's time is going to be debugging (fixing problems in the code) and keeping up maintainability. That second one is really important because even if code you write now works, if it isn't flexible or you have to spend 15 minutes every time you open it to even understand what's going on, the future time you'll be spending trying to make future stuff work with your old stuff will make your head spin.