An Overly Long Tangent Talking About Hacking (TM)

McSpazz

It's Spazz again! I decided that I have nothing better to do so I should make a write-up talking about hacking. Specifically, what it is and what it isn't. For all of you out there that have characters who hack into systems, I encourage you to take this to heart and consider how you can use it in your own roleplay. Please also keep in mind that while I am a computer scientist, I am not an expert on hacking myself. What I am going to provide is a very general overview of what it is and how you should consider going about it in your roleplay.

1. What is hacking?

Hacking is a REALLY broad term when you think about it. While, at its core, hacking is all about entering computer systems you are not supposed to be in, the means you do so are extremely numerous. What most people see in popular media is more often than not exploiting software vulnerabilities on exposed networks. Software vulnerabilities can range in severity with the most dangerous being "Zero Day Exploits". A Zero Day Exploit is a software vulnerability that is so easily taken advantage of and/or provides so much access to a system's permissions that it needs to have been patched yesterday. These are a really big deal and, while potent, are very rare. Details on zero day exploits are sometimes sold on black markets and the utilization of more than a few zero day exploits on a system is often done by nation states. Exploits are often not the end of the journey, however. Sometimes an exploit might get you into the target servers, but not the server you wanted to take advantage of. I'm sure you can start to see why hacking can take a great deal of skill.