How to perma and why?

The normal way to perma something is to use Hasten, slot as many Luck of the Gambler +Recharge IOs as possible (up to 5) and then slot as many other recharge boosting IO sets (Purples and AT IOs being the best). Depending on the ability, this may be enough, or you may need even more IO bonuses.

As for what's worth permaing, anything that provides a big boost to your survivability or damage is usually "worth" it. This include Hasten, Domination, defensive powers like Eclipse on Warshades, and things like this.

I've never tried to perma stuff before and I'd like to get some basic advice.

• What's the bog standard method to perma something?
  • How do I know something is worth going to that effort?

1) There's a pretty simple mathematical formula to determine how much recharge (slotted and global) you need to perma something: Recharge time (in seconds) divided by duration (in seconds) -1.

So if you take Hasten, as the classic example, it recharges in 450 seconds and it lasts 120. 450/120=3.75-1=2.75=275% total recharge needed to perma hasten. (you subtract 1 because your base recharge is 100%, so you need 275% above and beyond that base 100%). For the most part, if a power can be perma'd, once you have Hasten perma'd it is either perma or very close to.

If a power takes more than 5 times its duration to recharge, it absolutely cannot be perma'd no matter what you do.

2) THAT is a complicated question. There is no simple answer because everyone has a different opinion. SOME powers it's a given, like the clicky mez resistance in Super Reflexes and Shield Defense, you want those perma bloody well yesterday. Other powers, like Hasten and Accelerate Metabolism are less clear.. then you get something like Phantom Army and it becomes even less straight forward.