Wheres the Battle Axe love?

Cysticfury

I'm kinda new to CoH have a level 50 SD/BA and Its so rare to see BA as tanker secondary..  but almost every BA power has knockdown  am I missing something? why is BA so unpopular for a tank? and it hits REALLY hard!! I mean it does have slow cool down but still... I have been looking for guides on how to slot and  there is Nothing.. should i just use a SD/WarMace guide? 

On 9/25/2019 at 7:57 AM, Cysticfury said:

why is BA so unpopular for a tank?

Nerd answer: Axe is Mace but lethal. Smashing and lethal are the most commonly resisted damage types by players and NPCs in the game. Of note, robots resist lethal particularly hard, and there are ALOT of robots at high levels and some of them are actually weak to smashing. The difference in performance isn't huge, but min/maxers do as they do and it disseminates.

Other kind of Nerd answer: Axe isn't a sword and 'swords are cool'. Filthy commoners got no taste in badass weaponry. Axe on, brother.

• Like 2

Because battle axe and war mace are so similar (they even both have a shovel for a weapon), you need to make a decision as to which one you want.  If you are going thematic, that’s all you need.  Choose whatever looks good.  But if you want to eke out a smidgen of performance, war mace is slightly better.  Smashing is better than lethal for the most part.  And very rarely, the knock up on battle axe turns into knock back.  It’s mostly when you are fighting lower level mobs, but sometimes at even or higher level.  I’ve never seen knock back on war mace at even level.

Who run Bartertown?

• 3 weeks later