Mid's Reborn Linux/Virtualbox Guide

I saw the MacOS guide, but haven't seen anything for Linux.    Wondering if there are any guides to getting Mid's Reborn running in Linux?   Or if someone would make one?     Preferably for a lighter weight distro that would run well in Virtualbox.

If I could easily run Mid's in Virtualbox, then I can work on builds on work computers (....of course only during lunch.  🙂)       But as a Linux noob I found it challenging to get Wine, Winetricks,  .NET4.7.2 all properly installed, and then get Mid's working.     Seems like this would be useful to the community.    The situation is much better now that it's on Github, but I've frequently seen it mentioned that folks are reluctant to install Mid's because of security concerns about 3rd party code.    Having a straight forward way to run it as a sandboxed Virtual Machine would alleviate any worries....

Anyway, if no one else makes a guide, I'll eventually get around to making one myself.   But having spent several largely unsuccessful hours already, I can promise you it will be better if someone knowledgeable in Linux does it.   😉

3 hours ago, Dr Causality said:

The situation is much better now that it's on Github, but I've frequently seen it mentioned that folks are reluctant to install Mid's because of security concerns about 3rd party code.    Having a straight forward way to run it as a sandboxed Virtual Machine would alleviate any worries....

Said concerns come from those not aware that unsigned apps will often trigger false flags in many AV apps and there's not really a way to avoid it beyond giving the app the go ahead during installation. If you don't trust other gamers who openly post said apps on the forums Not to embed malware (that has been tested/scanned by many others), then I'd suggest Win10 S-Mode and its limitations for your online experience.

OG Server: Pinnacle  <||>  Current Primary Server: Torchbearer  ||  Also found on the others if desired