Help with Stone/Staff Build (Total Newbie)

callador0630

I've seen messing around with a few of the power sets, and I think I settled on Stone/Staff as the first tanker I want to get to 50.  I'm pre-granite, but with mud pots, rooted, tough, weave, and rock armor running, I'm actually pretty durable and taking down mission mobs with ease.  I purposely have been picking missions (when I can) that have more melee/smashing/lethal damage.  I haven't taken any  of the other stone armors, and I was hoping to wing it all the way up to 32 and just stick with granite.  Worst case I could grab some of the other ones to have more resistance/defense in the other areas.  

I'm a total newb, so I don't know much about the sets.  I've been making generic IO's so far.  Being new, I won't have  a lot of cash, so I figured this would be the best tank to get up to speed in the tanking department.  Then I can keep adding more custom sets as I go.

What I would like to do:

- Leverage the +13% to all resistances from staff and hopefully have enough recharge to keep that going constantly.  I will take hasten to help,  but is there a way to get perma-hasten so I can negate the -65% in granite form?  Or at least negate enough of it so I can keep guarded spin and sky splitter up for the buffs.

- With the bonus resistances, I would like to spend less slots hard capping them and focus more on my psi defense/resistance.  I will get 13% resistance from sky splitter, and I should get some psi defense from weave and maneuvers.  I also get some bonus defense from guarded spin, so hopefully that can save me some power choices to focus on psi.

- For the damage debuff on granite, I will take assault to negate most of it.  

- If possible, I would like to use rooted and earth's embrace to get my hip points near capped and have decent regen.  

Thanks in advance!

Imho, a well built granite dont need more resistance but more regen / recovery : Form of the soul would be better 🙂