Open Club  ·  40 members

PC Builders

Build help/advice for first timer

AboveTheChemist

Now that prices seem to be normalizing, the build project that I've had in the back of my head for two years seems feasible. I've never built my own before so I could certainly use any and all help/advice.

My rough budget is $1,000 but that is not a hard limit. I'd like a reliable, long-lived build that I can use for general productivity, potentially some video editing, and gaming. I mostly plan to play older games but would like the option to play some newer games (even if I need to dial back the settings a bit).

I've done a fair bit of research, including quite a few YouTube videos and browsing some build guides on PCPartsPicker. I've put together a rough build (linked below) that I think gets me in the ballpark. I have parametric selections for most parts so you can see some of the options I am considering, and I am not necessarily leaning towards the lowest price option for each component, but that's how the site displays them.

EDIT: Now that I am done, I've changed the link to represent my final build:

https://pcpartpicker.com/user/AboveTheChemist/saved/C2N3wP

For those that don't want to click the link, here's what I chose:

Spoiler
  • CPU: Ryzen 5 5600 - should be more than plenty to meet my needs
  • GPU: Radeon RX 6700 (non-XT) - I play in 1080p and the 6700 (non-XT) seemed to be the best bang for the amount of bucks I wanted to spend. I strongly considered the 6650 XT and 6700 XT, though.
  • Motherboard: MSI B550M PRO-VDH WIFI - I spent a little more on the motherboard than I planned, but it got great reviews and I think it will be a solid option for future upgrades
  • RAM: Silicon Power XPOWER Turbine 32 GB (2 x 16 GB) DDR4-3200 CL16 - 32GB might be overkill but I didn't mind investing a little more to have room to spare