Newbie Help

cgargano

I am new to COH and tanking generally, but wanted to give it a shot.  I am looking for a tank spec that would be good for a new player that isn't overly complex, holds up well at 50 (though wont be doing any hard mode stuff) but still does decent damage.  Sorry if that is not a lot to go on for suggestions, but I like the concept of red/rad or dark/dark but not sure if either of those fit what I'm looking for so pretty much wide open.  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.  

• Thumbs Up 1

1 hour ago, cgargano said:

I am new to COH and tanking generally, but wanted to give it a shot.  I am looking for a tank spec that would be good for a new player that isn't overly complex, holds up well at 50 (though wont be doing any hard mode stuff) but still does decent damage.  Sorry if that is not a lot to go on for suggestions, but I like the concept of red/rad or dark/dark but not sure if either of those fit what I'm looking for so pretty much wide open.  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.  

The leveling is fast if you stick to teams and use the double XP (if you're really new then browse the guide in my signature) and IOs being transferable means you can try different characters without spending a penny re-buying everything.

My usual advice when this question pops up is Fire Armor/Ice Melee since it works well and the squishyness of Fire Armor is mitigated by Ice Melee's Ice Patch. In the meanwhile the lesser Tanker damage is helped by Fire Armor's Burn and Fiery Embrace.

With inspirations and teams providing buffs pretty much any thing that you choose will work so it's a matter of choosing what you'd like to try. Just keep in mind it's not a waste. Money earned or IOs bought can be transferred to the next character.

• Thumbs Up 2