Can't decide on Water/Storm or Ice/Cold.

Vinven

I started playing a Water/Storm Corrupter and was enjoying the tidal mechanism within the power set. It had a good variety of attacks, and the ability to self heal. However I noticed that Storm didn't seem the best, the only thing I ever used it for was Snow Storm and Freezing Rain, and their slows weren't all that effective when the rest of the team typically had mobs rooted. It has a bunch of knock back effects as well that tend to be more of a hindrance than help the team, and their powers just overall kind of seemed on the weak/unpredictable side.

So I decided to try an Ice/Cold Corrupter. They get Snow Storm and Sleet, which replaces the main parts I cared about in Storm. Ice also gets Ice Storm and Blizzard, which both look and feel much better for aoe spells. The only problem is that they can't heal themselves, and they get no interesting mechanic like Tidal Power. Their heals and shields can't be used on themselves, and infrigidate and benumb seem useless. I do like the visuals/audio of ice/cold better, it seems to have a more cohesive aesthetic and whatnot. Also while it is nice that it gets some hard control, not sure why they get two single target holds instead of an aoe root at least.

So how do they stack up game wise? Is one a lot better than the other, statistically? Will I need to get into First Aid if I want to be able to heal myself? Would appreciate any help in deciding.

They’re Both good. Cold is very good at what it does. 

that being said, I think your impression of storm is a bit off- as with IOs the other powers (TStorm, Tornado even gale) all become significantly more powerful— enough so that defender is a better fit because so much damage comes from those which don’t benefit from scourge 

8 hours ago, kiramon said:

They’re Both good. Cold is very good at what it does.