Looking for the Optimal Controller Combo

00Troy00

I'm new to controllers, but want to go into it with some knowledge from those that's come before me. 

What is the most effective Primary/Secondary combo these days (and if there isn't  a clear-cut winner, what would make up the top 3)?

Depends on who you ask and there is clearly not an answer to this. It depends.

My thoughts (only personal opinion)

Single Target: Ill/Dark

Aoe: Plant/Storm

Support (even on low level): Plant/Elec

but there are many, many more and it depends on your playstyle. Those that I mentioned fit my playstyle.

Yeah, depends what you mean by "effective". Plant is good for aoe damage, control, and even support with a regen patch, but it's not top tier for ST damage. Illu is good for support and agro management with group invis and Phantom Army, and even has a hard-hitting ST attack, but it's not so great at locking foes down. Grav is great for ST damage, but is an otherwise standard control set.

And that's not even touching on the secondaries.

Basically, tell us WHAT you want to be "most effective" at, because I don't think that any one combo will be a clear winner in every category.

• Like 1

Not to cleave the horse carcass in two, but the answer to the question will vary depending on what you actually want to do with it.  If you want to solo everything from 0 to 50, then Plant/X or Ill/X would do the trick, where X is /Dark, /Rad, or /Time.  If you're looking to just control the heck out of everything, then Earth/X may be your bag, where X is /Time, /Poison, or /Trick Arrow.   If your goal is to be a useless XP leech for 25 levels then spend the next 25 levels becoming more awesome than anything else in the game, then Grav/Storm might be for you.

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

He doesn't HAVE an ass.  That's one of the things we're transplanting!

Like others said, there's no right answer here, but Plant/Kin/Earth probably qualifies. 

2 hours ago, roleki said: